With all the frenzy happening around me, a realization came to me a bit late. I had another person travelling with me to Sri Lanka. It had to be my camera man. I'd collected his accreditation from Mumbai, so I kind a got a clue how on he looks. He looked very professional and was a gem of a person the first time I met him. As I spoke to him I realized that, that his English was as bad my Hindi. It was like Brian Lara bowling to Glen Mcgrath. I kind of got a clue that there was going to be a perfect mismatch of sorts, with the communication. In the land of Sinhala, a producer who cant speak to Hindi to save his life and a cameraman who cant understand English to save his blushes. I foresaw my dream turning out to be an epic comedy.
The last time I felt bad for not learning Hindi was when a girl came and told me that I looked handsome, I was unmoved, staring at her eyes, pretended to understand and said "I'm really sorry, I feel bad." I confessed to my cameraman that my Hindi is pathetic, and we have to sail these 2 months without any misunderstandings, as it was my dream. I tried to make conversations with him and after a few tries I succeeded. I was happy to have made my first proper conversation with him. I was kicked and explaining my enthusiasm towards cricket. And guess what he had to say ? " I hate cricket, I don't watch much of it." and he continued to take stock of the camera material. I just looked up to the sky, the word "dream" quickly disapperaed in thin air, and "m" was replaced by "d". The flight had just taken off in pursuit of what seemed to be a long, tough, tricky, fun, hinglish dream.